Athos for Putin

 

“Greek clergy and public figures are going to present a gift to Russian President Vladimir Putin a unique icon - Patriotissa Panagia (Virgin of patriot), or "Unity". It was written specifically for Russia, in gratitude for their contribution to preserving the traditions of Orthodoxy, for his contribution to the development of Europe, told Russian journalists clergy and representatives of the NGO ELAIA ("Elia", "Oliva").
Present the icon as a gift planned in 2016 year, when the cross year Russia and Greece.
Icon painters of Mount Athos wrote, it is unique not only for work but also in size - 2,3 1,8 meters per meter. Weighs icon 150 kilograms. And it is called "Unity", because it is a line from the Gospel - "Let there be one."
At the writing of icons blessed Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Kirill, said rector of the church of Panagia Sumela in Minidi Father Gregory. In his temple to be stored icon until it is transported to Russia.”
[The full text of the article released English is provided in the Appendix below.]


This news item first appeared on the 16th of February on Russian news websites.  The English text above appears on the website ‘News CYPRUS’ and is reproduced exactly.

Before going any further I must clarify that the title (or name) of the icon which was, for some reason, mistranslated into English as “Virgin of patriot”. The word “patriot” is indeed written on the right side of the halo of the Mother of God, immediately below the customary Greek four-letters abbreviation “MP OY” – “Mother of God”; this is the title of the icon. However, the word in question is written in Russian and says “ПAT-PИO-TKA” (“patriot-ka”) that is a single female form of the word “patriot” – “female patriot”. Properly translated, the title of the icon is “Mother of God the Patriot” and this is in fact how it has been translated in Russian mass-media. It is noteworthy that in Russia we have many kinds of icon of the Mother God like “Mother of God the Milk Giver”, “Mother of God the Hope of those who have lost hope”, etc. We have never had “Mother of God the Patriot” though.

--------------------------------------------------------

 

Just a few years ago the text of this news release would be perceived as a parody or delirium. Today very little there causes strong emotions. This exhaustion of the soul is, I think, further proof that Russia continues in its steady movement towards absolute evil. Already very little amazes because our perceptions have grown dull from the abundance of absurdity and lies. The fact that this story comes not from Russian but from Greece does not change anything: Greece simply partook the Russian disease and assumed its place on the Russian metaphysical map.

I will leave the reader to make their own conclusions about the various statements the text makes and immediately move to the most important matter – to the icon itself or, speaking more precisely, to its iconographic scheme which gives the key to its understanding.

Anyone familiar with the world of icon painting would immediately recognise in the icon ‘Mother of God the Patriot’ (Lord forgive me!) the icon ‘Mother of God of the Sign’ much venerated in Byzantium and Ancient Russia. In Russia it was also called the ‘Mother of God of Incarnation’. This is probably theologically the deepest icon of the Mother of God. The iconography of the ‘Mother of God of the Sign’ is based on the Old and New Testament prophecies about the birth of the Saviour: by the prophet Isaiah “Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign. Behold, a young woman shall conceive and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel”[1] and by the archangel Gabriel “The Holy Spirit will come upon you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you; therefore the child to be born will be cold holy, the Son of God”[2]. The Mother of God is depicted standing with her hands raised up in a prayer; “on” her chest is a glowing circle/ heavenly sphere – there the blessing Baby Jesus is depicted. The meaning of this representation is clear; from now God is with us, “The Word became flesh”[3], in the Incarnation of Christ, which is taking place on the icon immediately before the eyes of a viewer, all the creation is blessed and transfigured.  Occasionally the heavenly sphere is only hinted at and the Baby Jesus is painted directly on His Mother’s cloak in the semi-circle formed by the folds of the cloak. On icons of ‘Mother of God of the Sign’ quiet often would be painted the figures of the saints, archangels and angels, that is, the part of the creation which has already entered the Heavenly Church. Whoever would be depicted on the icon the central figures would always remain the same – the Mother of God with the Baby Jesus Christ. Regardless of the details the icon depicts the fundamental Christian dogma of the Incarnation without which nothing is left of Christianity. Perhaps because of this the prototype “Mother of God of the Sign” has been found on the earliest frescos in the Christian catacombs.

Now, armed with this knowledge, let us look at the new icon from Athos. There is the Mother of God, there is the sphere within her but inside it is panted not the Baby Jesus but… the map of Greece! The adult Jesus Christ is depicted above, over the Mother of God. His figure appears as if it is inside an invisible circle (see the shape of the outline of the bottom of the figure) and He is blessing in exactly the say manner as the Baby Jesus, that is, with two hands. Christ Pantocrator (“Christ the Judge”, the iconographic type in which Christ is now represented on this icon) always blesses with one hand and always holds the scroll of the book of the Gospels in the other, this is why His figure here, with two blessing hands and “cut” by an invisible semi-cycle looks extremely artificial. Perhaps it would look different in a different context but here, in the frame of the iconography of ‘Mother of God of the Sign’ it looks as if it was “extracted” from the circle in which the map of Greece is now placed, was expanded and then glued above.

Thus this icon has acquired a new symbolism, quite blasphemous. The Mother of God is now “pregnant” with Greece, not with the Saviour. The “Sign of God” is already not the incarnation of Jesus Christ but Greece. Jesus Christ is blessing the new order of things from heaven.

Other figures and details are enriching the new meaning: the state officials of Greece and Russia, the two churches of Aghia Sophia, one in Istanbul and the other in Kiev, in the hands of the Mother of God; the double headed Byzantine/ Kiev / Russian eagle. This is not so much an icon but the genealogical tree or the crest of “patriots”, Greek and Russian. It is not clear though why the Mother of God herself is call “patriot”? Would it not, in that case, be logical to paint the map of ancient Israel instead of Greece in the circle? Or maybe Greece is the New Israel that “adopted” Russia so to speak?

Next I was planning to write about the aesthetics of the icon but, longer I looked at it, the harder it was to believe that it actually exists in reality. It cannot be so! It is so terribly painted, combining completely incompatible depictions: holy warriors, stand secure and heavily on the concrete-grey ground, higher – the archangels on oblong carpets, higher – much bigger figures of the prophets, their figures cut along their waist by horizontal straight lines, and the figure of Christ above them somehow cut by a circular line… The figure of the Mother of God with enormous wooden arms, disproportionally short, and the map of Greece somehow made in a way that its white border looks very much like the outline of a female waist beneath the dress of the Mother of God. The letter “E”, the emblem of an entirely earthly organisation ‘ELAIA’, is somehow written on the ground just before the Mother of God, in the icon space = the space of the Kingdom of Heaven. In the halo of the Mother of God is painted the olive branches which form the emblem of that organisation. The style of painting is crude while the Athos style has always been recognized for its fine nuances in the modelling of faces. But forget about the style! – Such a strange composition, the figures which are rotating like balls in the hands of a juggler, sharply diminishing in their proportions from the top to the bottom and appear almost to fall down into the space below them. I cannot believe my eyes!

Then what is all this about? Maybe someone made a deliberately blasphemous icon in Russia, by some commission from a “high level”, with some enigmatic purpose? Maybe it is just another “test”; will the blasphemy be digested or not? Or was it really painted in Greece but not on Athos – in some bizarre icon studio and presented as if “from Athos”, for the additional weight so to speak? Or – and this is the worst – all is true, it is made on Athos, and some elder truly blessed it. Who knows, perhaps they truly tried to make an icon for Putin and this what came up – the depiction of the true state of affairs in Russia, Greece, and everywhere this hellish disease has touched.

Despite its absurdity the “icon for Putin” is still the sign, of what has come and is to come. This is the reality so much desired by so many: the Incarnation is cancelled, God is not with us – with us are our lands and our patriot-warriors. Instead of Christ, at the door of our hearts is now knocking a scary figure, something-like the goddess Athena, something-like the Mother-homeland, with wooden arms something-like those of a wind mill or a swastika. Instead of Christ the “Mother of God” gives birth/ sanctifies “the original land” and together with it – the new people united by the national idea. The love of Christ is swapped with love for the homeland and one’s own people and this is proclaimed holy – this is why the “Mother of God” was given the title “Patriot”. This is – the nauseously familiar, eternal attempt to swap the heavenly with the earthly, God – to make idols.

Why speak if everything is so obvious? Please compare the “icon for Putin” with the old-Russian icon ‘Mother of God of the Sign’[4]. I have deliberately placed their fragments beside each other.

“So when you see the desolating sacrilege spoken by the prophet Daniel, standing in the holy place, then…”[5]

 

19 February 2015

 --------------------------------------------------------


Appendix

News CYPRUS’
17.02.2015 - 10: 03

 

The monks on Mount Athos wrote a unique icon for the President of Russia

Greek clergy intend to present as a gift to Russian President unique icon "Unity". "This icon represents the heritage of Byzantine culture, which perceived Russia. And we very much believe in this difficult hour, that the Mother of God can help Greece to improve relations with Russia," - said the elder Athos George Alevras Kavsokalivit.

Greek clergy and public figures are going to present a gift to Russian President Vladimir Putin a unique icon - Patriotissa Panagia (Virgin of patriot), or "Unity". It was written specifically for Russia, in gratitude for their contribution to preserving the traditions of Orthodoxy, for his contribution to the development of Europe, told Russian journalists clergy and representatives of the NGO ELAIA ("Elia", "Oliva").
Present the icon as a gift planned in 2016 year, when the cross year Russia and Greece.


Image worthy of Russian Orthodox people

Icon painters of Mount Athos wrote, it is unique not only for work but also in size - 2,3 1,8 meters per meter. Weighs icon 150 kilograms. And it is called "Unity", because it is a line from the Gospel - "Let there be one."

At the writing of icons blessed Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Kirill, said rector of the church of Panagia Sumela in Minidi Father Gregory. In his temple to be stored icon until it is transported to Russia.

According to him, and frame the icon has a meaning - it shows the first governor of Greece Ioannis Kapodistrias, Admiral Fyodor Ushakov, revered as a saint, St. George.

In the coming days, the icon will be delivered to the Ministry of National Defense of Greece, the territory of which there is a small church. Icon will meet Russian Defense Minister and the heads of the armed forces of Greece. There it will be several days.

"She will worship, pray, and then the icon will bring to the military hospital, and then, on the day of the Triumph of Orthodoxy, will bring to our church. It has a symbolic meaning, we have Russian church, our congregation - speaking population. The icon would first bring in Russian Church in the center of Athens, but there are no such conditions, as we have. We icon will be up to 2016, when during the days of Russia in Greece, we would like to pass it on to the Russian state, "- said Father Gregory.

Create Russian version of the image of Our Lady of Unity, in all its grandeur worthy of the Orthodox people of Russia, it was decided in 2006 year, said Athos Archimandrite George Elder Alevras Kavsokalivit.

In the beginning was written by the Greek version of the icon, it is smaller in size - 1,5 1 meters per meter and is located on Mount Athos. In 2009 was written by the Russian version of the icon.

"When we visited Russia in 2009 year, we received a copy of the icon of Our Lady patriot Patriarch Kirill and received the blessing of writing large icons, which we would like to give the President of Russia. And no matter whether the icon will go to Russia or not go, it belongs Russia ", - said the old man.

He said he loved Russian as their second home. "The Russian Church is strong and free Orthodox Church," - said Archimandrite.

"This icon represents the heritage of Byzantine culture, heritage, who took Russia. And we very much believe in this difficult hour, that the Mother of God can help Greece to improve relations with Russia. That's what we were engaged in recent years, with the head of the fund ELAIA Ioannis Kornilakisom" - said Archimandrite George.


Icon and the first governor of Greece

The words "Let there be one" used the first governor of Greece Ioannis Kapodistrias in a letter to the clergy of the Greek Church at the time, told the writer and researcher Ioannis Kornilakis, CEO of the nonprofit organization ELAIA. He has been studying the life and work of John Kapodistrias, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia and the first governor of Greece after independence. Kornilakis book "Ioannis Kapodistrias - holy policies". Rare book includes letters 930 ruler, historical documents on the history of Greece, Russia and the whole of Europe, that have not been published. Preface to the book written Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia Alexy II shortly before his death and the present Patriarch Kirill, Patriarch of the Ecumenical Patriarch of Jerusalem, President of Cyprus.

Icon - a reciprocal gift of Greece, said Kornilakis.

"King Nicholas I did not want to let go of Kapodistrias, but he said that for many years given the service of Russia and would like to spend the last years of his life to the service of his country. The mother of two emperors Maria Feodorovna gave him a gift - an icon of the Mother of God, which Kapodistrias never parted. We are now more than 180 years, created a Russian version of the icon of the "Unity" - said the researcher.

"I think it reflects the aesthetics of the Russian people," - said Kornilakis. According to him, in particular, the icon has a picture of St. George - the same as the emblem of the Russian president.
"We would like to see the icon was transferred to the Russian president," - said the researcher.

Kornilakis said that when the icon was brought to the temple two metropolitans - in Trikalle in Karditsa, it was met with special military honors.


--------------------------------------------------------

[1] Isaiah 7:14.

[2] Luke 1:35.

[3] John 1:14.

[4] 13 c., Yaroslavl.

[5] Matthew 24:15.


 

other articles
home

   

‘Mother of God of the Sign’
Yaroslavl, 13 c.

 

“Mother of God the Patriot”
Athos, 21 c.

s

Афон для Путина

 

"Греческие священнослужители и общественные деятели намерены преподнести в дар президенту России Владимиру Путину уникальную икону Панайа Патриотисса (Божья матерь Патриотка), или "Единство". Ее написали специально для России в благодарность за вклад в сохранение традиций православия, за вклад в развитие Европы, рассказали российским журналистам священнослужители и представители общественной организации ELAIA.

Икону писали иконописцы на Афоне, она является уникальной не только по работе, но и по размеру 2,3 метра на 1,8 метра. Весит икона 150 килограммов. Ее называют и "Единство", поскольку на ней есть строка из Евангелия "Да будет едино".

На написание иконы благословил Патриарх Кирилл (Гундяев), сообщил настоятель церкви Панайа Сумела в Миниди отец Григорий. В его храме будет храниться икона, пока ее не перевезут в Россию."

[полный текст статьи дан в приложении ниже].


Несколько лет назад этот текст воспринимался бы как пародия или бред. Сегодня в нем мало что вызывает сильные эмоции. Эта усталость души, как мне кажется, доказывает верность ощущения, что в своем неумолимом стремлении к абсолютому злу Россия одерживает победу. Уже мало что удивляет, т.к. восприятие притупилось от изобилия абсурда и лжи. То, что эта новость из Греции, а не из России, ничего не меняет: Греция приобщилась российской заразы и стала частью России на метафизической карте.

Предоставляя читателю самому составить мнение о содержащихся в тексте заявлениях, я сразу перейду к главному к самой иконе, а еще точнее к ее иконографической схеме, дающей ключ к ее пониманию.

Любой человек, знакомый с иконописанием, немедленно узнает в иконе "Богородица Патриотка" (Господи, прости меня!) почитавшуюся в Византии и Древней Руси икону "Богоматерь Знамение". На Руси она называлась также "Богоматерь Воплощения". Это  наиболее богословски глубокая икона Богоматери. Иконография "Знамения" восходит к ветхозаветному и новозаветному пророчествам о рождении Спасителя: пророка Исайи "Итак сам Господь даст вам знамение: се, Дева во чреве приимет и родит Сына, и нарекут имя Ему: Иммануил"[1] и Архангела Гавриила, обращенных к Пресвятой Деве "Дух Святый найдет на Тебя и сила Всевышнего осенит Тебя; посему и рождаемое Святое наречется Сыном Божиим"[2] Богоматерь с воздетыми в молитве руками изображается с небесной сферой на уровне груди; в этой сфере пишется благословляющий Младенец Иисус. Смысл ясен: Бог отныне с нами, "Слово стало плотию"[3], в Воплощении Христа, происходящем на иконе непосредственно перед глазами молящегося, все творение благословлено и преображено. Иногда небесная сфера дается только намеком и Младенец пишется прямо на фоне мафория (плаща) Богоматери, в полукруге, образуемом складками мафория. На иконах "Знамение" довольно часто писали фигуры святых, архангелов, ангелов т.е., ту часть Божиего творения, что уже вошла в Небесную Церковь.  Кого бы ни изображали на иконе, однако, центральные фигуры всегда оставались неизменными Богоматерь с Младенцем Иисусом.  Вне зависимости от деталей, икона изображает фундаментальный христианский догмат о Боговоплощении, без которого от Христианства не остается ровным счетом ничего. Возможно, поэтому прототип этотoго образа Богоматери был найден уже в катакомбах древних христиан.

Теперь, вооруженные этим знанием, посмотрим на новую афонскую икону. На ней есть Богоматерь, есть сфера, но в нее вписан не Младенец Иисус, а... карта Греции. Взрослый Иисус Христос изображен выше, над Богоматерью. Фигура Его словно бы вписана в невидимый круг (см. форму среза низа фигуры) и благословляет точно также, как Младенец Иисус, т.е. двумя руками. Христос Пантократор (именно этот иконографический тип представлен на иконе) всегда благословляет одной рукой, а в другой держит свиток или книгу Евангелия, поэтому его фигура с двумя благословляющими руками и обрезанная по полукругу  выглядит крайне неорганично. Возможно, она бы выглядела иначе в другом контексте, но здесь, в рамках иконографии "Знамения", она смотрится так, словно бы ее "извлекли" из круга, в который вписана карта Греции, увеличили, а затем приклеили выше.

Икона, таким образом, приобрела новый символизм, довольно богохульный. Богоматерь теперь "беременна" Грецией, а не Спасителем. "Знамение Божие" уже не воплощение Иисуса Христа, а Греция (низкое разрешение фотографии иконы не позволяет увидеть, есть ли на карте Кипр). Иисус Христос с небес благословляет новое полжение вещей.

Остальные фигуры и детали дополняют новый смысл: государственные мужи Греции и России, два храма св. Софии, в Константинополе и в Киеве, в руках у Богоматери, двуглавый византийский/ киевский/ российский орел наверху. Это, скорее, не икона, а генеалогическое древо или герб "патриотов", греческих и российских. Непонятно, правда, почему сама Богородица названа патриоткой? Не логичнее бы тогда вписать карту древнего Израиля в круг? Или Греция это новый Израиль, "удочеривший", так сказать, Россию?

Далее я собиралась написать об эстетике иконы, но, чем дольше я на нее смотрю, тем меньше верю, что она существует в реальности. Не может быть! Она же ужасно написана совершенно не сочетаемые приемы: святые воины, твердо стоящие на бетонно-серой земле, выше - архангелы на ковриках, еще выше более крупные фигуры пророков, обрезанные по поясу прямо, а фигура Христа, еще выше, обрезана по полукругу... Фигура Богоматери с деревянными огромными руками, непропорционально короткая, а карта Греции почему-то сделана так, что ее белая форма смахивает на... женскую талию в обтянутом платье. Буква "Е", эмблема вполне земной организации "ELAIA", написана на земле перед Богородицей, в иконном пространстве, т.е. в пространстве Царствия Божия. В нимбе Богородицы  оливковые ветки, эмблема организации. Письмо иконы грубое, а афонский стиль всегда отличала тонкость моделировки. Да что стиль! страннaя композиция, фигуры в которой, как шары в руках жонглера, крутятся, резко уменьшаясь в пропорциях книзу, и почти падают в затягивающее их пространство. Не верю!

Тогда что же это? Может быть, некто сделал намеренно богохульную псевдоикону в России, по чьему-то заказу "на высшем уровне", с некоей загадочной целью? Может быть, это очередной пробный шар: пройдет богохульство или нет? Или же это действительно написали в Греции, но не на Афоне, а какой-то странной мастерской, и выдали за афонскую для веса, так сказать. Или же и это самое худшее все правда, сделано на Афоне, и некий старец это действительно благословил. Кто знает, может быть, они честно пытались сделать икону для Путина, а вышло вон что изображение действительного положения дел в России, Греции, и везде, к чему прикасается адская зараза. 

Несмотря на свою абсурдность, "икона для Путина" все-таки знамение того, что уже пришло. Это желаемая так многими реальность: Воплощение отменено, Бог не с нами, с нами наши земли и наши патриоты-воины. Вместо Христа в дверь нашего сердца стучится теперь пугающащая фигура не то богини Афины, не то родины-матери с деревянными руками, приводящими на ум мельницу или свастику. Вместо Христа "Богоматерь" рожает/ освящает "исконную землю", а на ней новый народ, объединенный национальной идеей. Любовь к Христу заменена любовью к своей земле и своему народу и провозглашена святой поэтому "Богородице" и дали титул "Патриотка". Это знакомая до тошноты, извечная попытка подменить небесное земным, Бога идолами.

Впрочем, что говорить, когда все и так очевидно. Напоследок сравните, пожалуйста, "икону для Путина" с древнерусской "Знамение"[4]. Я специально поместила их фрагменты рядом друг с другом.

"Итак, когда увидите мерзость запустения, реченную через пророка Даниила, стоящую на святом месте..."[5]

 

19 февраля 2015

-------------------------------------------------------- 


Приложение
 

Греческие монахи на Афоне написали икону специально для Путина


Греческие священнослужители и общественные деятели намерены преподнести в дар президенту России Владимиру Путину уникальную икону  Панайа Патриотисса (Божья матерь Патриотка), или "Единство". Ее написали специально для России в благодарность за вклад в сохранение традиций православия, за вклад в развитие Европы, рассказали российским журналистам священнослужители и представители общественной организации ELAIA ("Елиа", "Олива"). Об этом сообщает 16 февраля РИА "Новости"

Преподнести икону в дар планируется в 2016 году, когда будет перекрестный год России и Греции.

Икону писали иконописцы на Афоне, она является уникальной не только по работе, но и по размеру  2,3 метра на 1,8 метра. Весит икона 150 килограммов. Ее называют и "Единство", поскольку на ней есть строка из Евангелия  "Да будет едино".

На написание иконы благословил Патриарх Кирилл (Гундяев), сообщил настоятель церкви Панайа Сумела в Миниди отец Григорий. В его храме будет храниться икона, пока ее не перевезут в Россию.

По его словам, и рамка иконы имеет свой смысл  на ней изображены первый правитель Греции Иоанн Каподистрия, адмирал флота Федор Ушаков, почитаемый как святой, святой Георгий.

В ближайшие дни икону доставят в министерство национальный обороны Греции, на территории которого есть небольшая церковь. Встречать русскую икону будут министр обороны и руководители вооруженных сил Греции. Там она будет находиться несколько дней.

"Ей будут поклоняться, молиться, затем икону принесут в военный госпиталь, а после этого, на День торжества православия, принесут в нашу церковь. Это имеет символическое значение, у нас церковь русская, наши прихожане  русскоязычное население. Икону хотели сначала принести в русскую церковь в центре Афин, но там нет таких условий, как у нас. У нас икона будет находиться до 2016 года, когда во время дней России в Греции мы хотели бы передать ее российскому государству",  сказал о. Григорий.

Сотворить русскую версию образа Богоматери Единства, во всем величии достойного православного народа России, было решено в 2006 году, рассказал афонский архимандрит старец Георгий Алеврас Кавсокаливит.

Вначале был написан греческий вариант иконы, он поменьше по размеру  1,5 метра на 1 метр и находится на Святом Афоне. В 2009 году был написан русский вариант иконы.

"Когда мы посещали Россию в 2009 году, мы подарили копию иконы Божьей матери Патриотки Патриарху Кириллу и получили благословение на написание большой иконы, которую мы хотели бы подарить президенту России. И независимо от того, поедет ли икона в Россию или не поедет, она принадлежит России",  подчеркнул старец.

Он сказал, что любит Россию как свою вторую родину. "Русская Церковь является сильнейшей и свободной Православной Церковью",  сказал архимандрит.

"Эта икона отражает наследие византийской культуры, наследие, которое восприняла Россия. И мы очень верим в этот трудный час, что Божья Матерь может помочь Греции улучшить отношения с Россией. Это то, чем занимались мы последние годы с главой фонда ELAIA Иоаннисом Корнилакисом",  отметил архимандрит Георгий.

Слова "Да будет едино" использовал первый правитель Греции Иоанн Каподистрия в письме к духовенству Греческой Церкви того времени, рассказал писатель и исследователь Иоаннис Корнилакис, генеральный директор некоммерческой организации ELAIA. Он многие годы изучает жизнь и деятельность Иоанна Каподистрии, бывшего министра иностранных дел России и первого правителя Греции после обретения ею независимости. Корнилакис издал книг "Иоанн Каподистрия  святой политик". Редкая книга включила 930 писем правителя, исторические документы по истории Греции, России и всей Европы, которые до этого не публиковались. Предисловия к книге написали Патриарх Алексий II незадолго до кончины и нынешний Патриарх Кирилл, главы Вселенской и Иерусалимской патриархий, президент Кипра.

Икона  это ответный подарок Греции, сказал Корнилакис.

"Царь Николай I не хотел отпускать Каподистрию, однако тот сказал, что много лет отдал служению России и хотел бы последние годы жизни посвятить служению своей родине. Мать двух императоров Мария Фёдоровна сделала ему подарок  икону Божьей матери, с которой Каподистрия никогда не расставался. Мы теперь, более чем через 180 лет, создали русский вариант иконы "Единство",  сказал исследователь.

"Я думаю, что она отражает эстетику русского народа",  добавил Корнилакис. По его словам, в частности, на иконе есть изображения Святого Георгия  такое же, как и на эмблеме президента России.

"Мы бы хотели, чтобы икона была передана президенту России",  сказал исследователь.

Корнилакис рассказал, что когда икону приносили в два храма  в Трикалле и в Кардице, ее встречали со специальными воинскими почестями.

Фото предоставлено фондом ELAIA


--------------------------------------------------------
 

[1] Ис. 7:14.

[2]  Лк. 1:35.

[3] Ин. 1:14.

[4] 13 в., Ярославль.

[5] Мф. 24-15.

   

Богоматерь Знамение
Ярославль, 13 в.

 

"Божья Mатерь Патриотка"
Афон, 21 в..